Media voter roundup

Submitted by ub on Tue, 11/04/2014 - 17:40

Broadcast and cable news networks will offer couch potatoes a seris of treats during tonight's midterm voter roundup, including new sets, modern gizmos, and anchor teams that will provide news and analysis of how they voted when Americans went to the polls. And prepare yourself because for some of the races, it could turn out to be a late night.

George Stephanopoulos and friends on ABC News will offer uninterrupted digital coverage beginning at 7 p.m. In addition, the network plans two live one-hour “Your Voice, Your Vote” programs to air on ABC at 10:00 p.m. ET and 10 p.m. PT.

Jon Stewart and The Daily Show will be in Austin, Texas for “Democalypse 2014: South by South Mess”.

CBS News will pair Scott Pelley and Norah O’Donnell for hourly updates at 7:00 p.m., 8:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m., followed by a one-hour election special at 10:00 p.m.

Fox News Channel turns to Bret Baier and Megyn Kelly as lead anchors of the channel’s election night coverage, which will carry the “America’s Election HQ” title. Coverage on FNC will begin at 6 p.m. ET, and include cross-platform coverage on Fox digital platforms.

NBC News will provide two one-hour prime-time specials on election night, led by “NBC Nightly News” anchor Brian Williams. Coverage begins at 10 p.m. ET, and continues online at 11 p.m. with a live “digital-exclusive” program through midnight.

Univision will produce hourly “Destino 2014″ updates from 4 p.m. ET through 2 a.m. ET, with special editions of Univision’s national newscast, “Noticiero Univision” airing from the network’s “Election Center” in Miami at 6:30P and 11:30P. with J Ramos and M E Salinas.

MSNBC will turn to Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews to host coverage of the midterm elections, under the title “Vote 2014!” Coverage begins at 6 p.m. ET.

PBS NewsHour anchors Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff will lead the NewsHour’s online and on-air election coverage. NewsHour will have special editions at 6 p.m. ET, with updated broadcasts at 7 p.m. and 9 p.m.

CNN will turn to Wolf Blitzer and Anderson Cooper–along with the Empire State Building–to headline the network’s election night coverage, dubbed “Election Night in America.” The network will begin coverage at 5 p.m. ET, with Blitzer and Cooper joined by CNN’s Jake Tapper and John King, who will take his usual spot at the “CNN Magic Wall.”

Bloomberg‘s Mark Halperin and John Heilemann will lead election night coverage, dubbed “Election All-Nighter” which begins at 5 p.m. ET with a special edition of “With All Due Respect.” Primetime coverage starts at 7 p.m. ET.

Fox Business Network will turn to anchor and managing editor Neil Cavuto for coverage. “Special Report: 2014 Midterm Elections” begins with a special report at 8 p.m. ET, alongside Maria Bartiromo. At 9 p.m., Cavuto will be joined by “Lou Dobbs Tonight” host Lou Dobbs.